In this document:
Permission levelsPapyrs supports fine grained permission settings: you can specify exactly who is allowed what type of access to which page. A user can have one of the following access levels:
- No access
The user has no access to the page. The page also won't be visible in a any navigation widget (such as favorites), or in the all pages navigation (see All pages overview). Attempting to access the link to a page directly will result in an error message.
- View only
The user is allowed to view the page, but nothing else. The user cannot post a comment, submit any form, edit the page or its settings, or view the page history.
- View & Submit forms
The user is allowed to view the page, leave comments, and submit forms. The user cannot edit the page or its settings, or view the page history. Of the filled out forms, the user is only allowed to view (and edit if Workflows options are off) the forms he or she submitted (a link "view my filled out forms" is shown next to a submit button). Note: if the page is public, public guests cannot view any form results, only submit them.
- View & Administer form
The user is allowed to view the page, leave comments, submit forms, and view & edit all filled out forms ("view all filled out forms" link is visible next to submit button). The user cannot edit the page or its settings.
- All (View, Edit & Admin)
The user is allowed to view the page, leave comments, submit forms, view & edit all filled out forms, edit the page and its settings. Only the creator of the page, and administrators in the team, are allowed to change the permission settings of the page.
How to change the permissions to a page?To set who has what type of access to which page, you can set the permissions on the Page Settings of each page. Navigate to the page for wich you want to change the settings, and click , and then Page Settings. You can also set the permissions when you create a new page, and the same screen is shown. The Page Settings look like this (you can read more about all the page settings on Pages):
- In this example, "Wim" & "Diederik" are administrators. They both have All access to this page, and this cannot be changed.
- Each other user has a dropdown menu next to their name where the access level can be set. In this example, Mary, Jane and Peter are allowed to view the page and submit forms. Because Peter is supposed to approve the reimbursement requests, he also has the permission to view and edit all filled out forms.
- To quickly set the same permission for every user in a subgroup, the dropdown menu next to name of the subgroup can be used. In this example, the dropdown menu at (3) can be used to set the same permission for everybody in the Marketing subgroup (Peter, Mary & Jane)
- Not part of the team, we invited some contractor (with email address firstname.lastname@example.org) to view the page as well.
- The page is not public to the rest of the internet.
- To quickly set the permission for every user in the entire team, the dropdown menu next to "All people in company" can be used (in the screenshot, examples is the name of the company).
Global permissionsNext to the page permissions, it's possible to set additional global permissions for each member in the team. This determines the role of the user within the team. To view and change these permissions, go to Settings > People, and click Change permissions, see the following screenshot:
After clicking on Change Permissions, the following options will appear:
Use the dropdown next to each user to change their global permission level. Three permissions levels (also called roles) are available. By default, the settings are:
Next to having full access to all pages in the team, an administrator can invite and remove team members, and change account settings.
- Normal user
Can access pages other team members share with this user. Can create new pages and share those with the team.
- Limited user
Like a normal user, but cannot create new pages.
For more advanced permission level settings, click Edit Roles. Here you can change the settings of a permission level itself. For example, if you don't want Normal Users to have access to the activity stream page, uncheck that option and click Apply. All Normal Users will now no longer see the activity stream.